Posted in The Now

The Work Itself

“Do your work, and I shall know you. Do your work, and you shall reinforce yourself.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance and Other Essays

 

Early Saturdays in early June are high season in the Unicorn’s Mane.  The beds have been prepared and are conflicted about what to grow – territorial disputes are breaking out everywhere. Intervention is required.

 

In the back section, which has been patient about things, I’m just barely keeping the peace. There’s a Bully Vine that grows fast and chokes out anything in touches. There’s Creeping Charlie everywhere. I begin by reclaiming some rebels that have survived – a Salvia and a little ferny flowering groundcover guy:

When I squint, the area looks like this in my brain’s eye:

Redo Squinting

The garden has not flourished. I didn’t mulch it properly, and the groundcover took over. The tom starters, nice little three-inchers with true leaves, got hit with a late frost and then a rainstorm that washed out the crippled survivors. I started a new set of heirlooms, cherries, and a packet a friend brought me from Italy, in a free-standing planter. They’ll get transplanted once things start settling down. Strawberries barely hanging on. Carrots totally ignoring me. Melons and Zucchini just poking up. Brussels seeming just fine thank you very much:

garden tubes

I pulled up Sprinkler Zone 9 (good band name) and moved it into the Garden area last Fall, and am in the process of moving hoses around so they point at the right things. I secure them with stakes:

In the Xeri section, the Mystery Bully is back. This thing grows 6 inches in a week and spreads like fire. If anybody can tell me what this is or how to control it I’m all ears. You can see where I cleared it and where it came back between my new Spanish Broom bush and Pink Lady tree:

In this same section has emerged a thing that looks like Sigmund the Sea Monster. I don’t know if it’s supposed to be there or not. Again, I’m all ears.

sigmund

Ongoing projects: spray the Crabapple tree again with a milk/canola oil solution to try and keep the Powdery Mildew in check; water the potted greens to keep the salad coming, get another layer of mulch around the Honeysuckle to keep the roots cool; mow the front yard, hand-water lots of stuff…

…use the hand-clippers to snap up a few stalks of Lavender or whatever’s looking good, weed out the wildflower section, play with Charlotte…

…then grab another cup of coffee and catch up on the Saturday Morning Shows…

##

 

Author:

Graphic designer / project manager / gardener living in Denver, Colorado.

Leave a Reply

